Széchenyi Museum Railway Nagycenk
The railway is operated by GYSEV Zrt. between Nagycenk and Fertőboz, with children doing the on-board train service. In spite of the fact that the museum railway is only 3600 m long, it is quite popular among both young and adult “railway fans”.
THE HISTORY OF THE MUSEUM RAILWAY
The Hungarian narrow-gauge railways were first built in the 70’s of the 19th century. They satisfied smaller transport demands of certain areas and could be built cost-effectively and without special technical requirements. They were first used in the mountains to replace branch lines and connected several secluded places to the traffic of the country.
In the 1950’s, the shift of the role of narrow-gauge railways to street transportation in the most places became increasingly apparent. In autumn 1969, GYSEV came up with the idea that together with the rapid demolition of the Hungarian narrow-gauge railways, the most typical means of railway should be preserved for the public and kept in operation.
The idea came just at the right time, since the restoration works on the Széchenyi Castle in Nagycenk had started just then and one had had planned a memorial museum in the castle. A transport connection was needed between the railway and the castle and so it was clear that one should build the museum railway in Nagycenk, starting from the station Fertőboz of GYSEV.
The actual construction works started in the summer of 1970. The first section of the planned line network was built on the place of the industrial track of the former sugar factory of Nagycenk, between the stations of Fertőboz and Barátság. The most beautiful part of this section is the bridge with three openings above the river Ikva and the embankment next to it. The second line section was completed in 1972. This branches off from the first section beside Nádtelep and leads with numerous curves through a beautiful area, before finally reaching –after 2400 m – the station of the Széchenyi Castle. The engine shed of the Museum Railway in Fertőboz was completed simultaneously with the new line section. The building can hold up to four locomotives. Since 1973, the Museum Railway has been owned by the Transport Museum.
THE MUSEUM RAILWAY TODAY
The railway is operated by GYSEV Zrt. between Nagycenk and Fertőboz, with children doing the on-board train service. In spite of the fact that the museum railway is only 3600 m long, it is quite popular among both young and adult “railway fans”. In the park next to the stop “Kastély” (castle) in Nagycenk, in the vicinity of the unique linden alley, a new playground and railway park awaits young and old. The open-air museum presents locomotives and railway cars that had once been used in the different regions of Hungary and visitors can also try out the train swing and the steam hamster wheel.
“Andrew”, the steam locomotive and the wagons were built at the beginning of the century; Kiscenk, the diesel locomotive, which has been on duty on the 3600 m-long line since 2003, in 1950.
Learn more about the museum railway at: www.gysev.hu
Themed walking tours in Sopron
We warmly invite individuals and groups to discover Sopron's charms and secrets through our six themed walking tours. »
Sightseeing train in Sopron
With sightseeing train our guests can discover on city tours the sights of Sopron. »